Escanaba in Da Moonlight Cast!

The Ramsdell Regional Center for the Arts (RRCA) partners with veteran director Dr. Rick Plummer to produce “Escanaba in Da Moonlight.” A “laugh-out-loud” and “a super Yooper comedy,” Escanaba is a show you won’t want to miss!

One weekend only, the show will take place at the RRCA from April 26 – 29, 2018. “Rick directed it years ago at West Shore Community College. This new cast is amazing, and is the same team that brought you ‘A Tuneful Christmas Carol’ at the RRCA,” said Xavier Verna, Executive Director of the RRCA. Tickets are available now through or by calling 1-800-836-0717. Cast members include Greg Kjolhede as ‘Albert Soady,’ Jordan Sell as ‘Remnar Soady,’ Mik Mikula as ‘Rueben Soady,’ Jeremy D. Engwall as ‘Jimmer Nagamanee,’ De-Ahna Underwood as ‘Wolf Moon Dance Soady,’ and Bill Ferguson as ‘Ranger Tom T. Treado.’

Escanaba in Da Moonlight is written by actor Jeff Daniels and was premiered at the Purple Rose theatre in Chelsea, MI in 1995. The play is set in the present, with flashbacks to 1989, and located somewhere deep in the woods north of Escanaba in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. “This is hands down one of the funniest plays ever written.  Audiences howl with laughter at the ‘Up North’ shenanigans of some of the wackiest ‘Yoopers’ you’ll ever encounter,” said director Rick Plummer. “Escanaba is side-splittingly sophomoric and, ‘Holy Wha’–is it ever a scream for adults with a taste for slightly risqué yet riotous humor!” This show is not recommended for young audiences.

Escanaba in Da Moonlight is presented by special arrangement with Dramatists Play Service, Inc., New York.

Manistee Jaycee’s Award RRCA executive director!

The Manistee Jaycee’s announced on February 26 the winners of the 2018 community service awards. The Jaycees announced that these are individuals in the community of Manistee that are being recognized for all the good things that they do. They were nominated by community members. Executive director Xavier Verna has been awarded the “Young Professional” award. “It was out of the blue! I did not expect that and I am humbled that the community voted for me. Thank you! said, Xavier. An award reception will be held to honor the recipients. The list of winners is below:

2018 Young Professional: Xavier Verna of the Ramsdell Regional Center for the Arts
2018 Young Volunteer: A tie between Ben Crowley of Edward Jones, and Breanna Miller of the MHS Forensics Team
2018 Young Healthcare Provider: Amiee Patulski of Munson Manistee’s Emergency Department
2018 Young Educator: Bill Kinnunen of Casman Academy
2018 Young Public Safety Provider: Brian Gutowski of the Manistee County Sheriff’s Department
2018 Young Person Making a Difference: Jenna Johnson of the Michigan DNR

Congratulations to all of the recipients!